Aeonian Axis

image

Earth spins and rotates at stupefying pace around it’s axis

Simultaneously encircling and orbiting the sun,

Whilst I, a nanoscopic speck juxtapositioned on it’s surface

Am blissfully unaware of such out of this world goings-on!

Going about the busy-ness of daily doings and happenings,

Cosmic movement rarely gets a look in from my tiny little mind!

However…

Why should it then be that I am so very acutely aware

Of my own personal frantic whirling and turning?

I am like a hamster on an exercise wheel,

Human claws treading and running at supersonic speed

And somehow the mechanism has jammed and stuck

And there is no stopping, no jumping off…

Until…

And perish that thought…

It all spirals out of control!

Many are the hats that I wear throughout a day,

Many are the labels that I alternate between…

Wife, Mother, Housewife, Cook, Cleaner, Organist, Blogger, Gardener…

Ah, the latter is stuck to my head, the others getting anย occasional turn

And when not in use, hang neatly on pegs arranged in tidy rows

Hanging in the orderly cloakroom of my mind, awaiting their turn!

But…

I am NOT the sum total of all my varied hats and labels and chores and jobs…

I am more, so much more and I am nothing…emptiness.

A most beautiful, divine and sacred paradox!

Alhamdulillah.

Hallelujah.

Jai Ram.

Praise be to God from whom all Blessings flow…

And the hamster wheel gradually and steadily, slows down,

And now it is rocking gently, smoothly, from side to side,

Like a Newton’s Cradle progressively losing momentum,

Or a Buddhist Mani or prayer wheel decelerating…

And I am lulled into a heavenly and enchanted sleep.

Om Mani Padme Hum.

And now…

All is still as I am cradled and lovingly held

In the pivotal arms of the Wheel of Eternity…

Hallowed peace at last…

22 thoughts on “Aeonian Axis

    1. Again, my friend you are too kind, and I accept your praise graciously! Again this one flowed… As they say in Cockney… Ham and cheese (easy) and it was not ‘ard Kathy Burke (work)… No idea why I am reverting to Cockney! It is very wet today so Gardener’s hat on the peg. Think Cook’s hat about to be pulled on together with Cleaner’s. Philosophy Group meeting tonight, always refreshing! Saturday was bizarre… Afternoon spent with Sufi teacher, meditation, chanting, teaching etc. like minded people… Evening attended a joint 50th and 55th Birthday Bash… Disco music so loud you had to shout to speak! Lol! The contrast very extreme! Aaaaaah… Just embrace it all and enjoy… We did! Enough banter, have a fruitful and positive week…Ta very much me ol’ mate! ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi Krys! I found it comforting to read this post. From all the hectic life caused by so many role attach to us, to find the space and emptiness it is not easy. It’s overwhelming and make us out of control. When finally the “wheel gradually and steadily, slows down”, I feel it is so relieving.. Good writing, my friend ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanking you so much, so glad it made a connection and helped a little! Take care…be kind to yourself and seek out lots of quiet, still moments just for you! You make the choices not the world…we can pick and choose what we give our energy to! It is difficult as the world throws so much distraction at us…especially now more than ever before with all the modern technology! It is possible to slow down, make your life simpler, but it does require some effort and conviction. Take good care and hope your day Is nice and slow and uncrowded!! :). xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The usual Krys style. Many complex ideas weaved together so beautifully into a whole. The choice of words reflects the seriousness with which you treat the subject. No one can read this and not be edified. Your works show a lot of engagement.I am as inspired as always.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanking you, my friend, for your gracious comments! When I wrote this I wanted to convey that we on this planet are all one…regardless of colour or creed…there is only one God! As for taking the subject seriously…it is the only subject, all others pale into insignificance! Thanks again! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

