Line Dance…

image

There is something special and satisfying about a washing line…

Not just any washing line, but this one in particular.

Suspended between two trees, strong, steadfast and stalwart,

Like an inviting tightrope for bugs to navigate and play follow my leader

And set in gardens that were once religiously and meticulously manicured,

These wise old trees bear witness to changing lifestyles and fads,

To fashions and foibles, to people arriving and people departing…

To an assortment of biographies all pegged out on a line!

Today’s story was most exquisite, most refined, most stylish:

A row of beautifully tailored shirts and blouses, billowing in the breeze,

Each one chosen for it’s elegant design, tasteful pattern and harmonious hue.

A light southerly wind gently blew warm breath into each garment,

Causing each one to swell and inflate, puff up and take form

So that the washing line suddenly takes on a macabre, surreal quality.

Now there is a row of headless, handless, armless torsos, all swaying together,

Keeping strict time in unison, their line dance suspended in mid air,

Trees’ leaves cast intricate dappled shadows across imaginary abdomens,

And I awake from my bizarre and grotesque reverie with a jolt

As a thought arises from a deep crevice within my brain…

Some humans have no need of light Southerlies to blow and bloat them up…

Many are already filled with hot air to maximum capacity and bursting point!

Pomposity, pretentiousness and pride pervade the air in which they are suspended.

Now….

Where did I put that pin?

**************************

**************************

I was not able to take a photo of the washing line that inspired me…

as I was gardening for a client! Β Instead, I rigged up 3 of my favourite shirts of my husband’s

…for artistic purposes of course! Β πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “Line Dance…

  1. What an inspiration Krys πŸ™‚ you are so creative. I still am surprised as to how well you draw creative inspiration from the small things we often overlook. This is a lovely poem and of course the picture has bright vivid colours. Lovelyy πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡
    Love and Hugs from Mumbai πŸ˜€β€πŸ’•πŸ’—
    Happy weekend πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much Krys.. hope you have a lovely blossoming garden as well. Enjoy your time and keep smiling πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡
        Sending some hugs to Scotland πŸ’—πŸ’—πŸ’—

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow.. I shall await to see your lovely garden Krys πŸ’πŸŒΏπŸŒΎπŸƒπŸŒΊπŸŒ΄πŸŒ³πŸŒ²πŸŒ΅πŸŒ·πŸŒΈπŸŒ±πŸŒ²πŸŒ³

        Like

  2. Like Himani said in her comments, like how you’ve drawn inspiration from a clothesline! As for the pompous, pretentious, ‘proudies’….. Prick them hard and undo the pin that holds them to the line so they can get taken by the wind! You have a lovely weekend and rgds to MMM

    Like

  3. This was wonderful for so many reasons – I love the homage to the environment while placing humans and their ‘colorful’ belongings emotionally within that beauty in a unique way –
    Love also the complementary imagery – opposing – yet just might work together under the right circumstances πŸ™‚ such is a clothesline and life…
    hope you find that pin πŸ˜‰
    Wonderful weekend to you and I hope you take time off from hanging laundry!
    am:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You can’t hide much if you’re hanging it on a line! I love the image of the billowing clothes. I always hang shirts upside down, and I’ve never seen what you saw. But I can see it now in my mind, and it’s hilarious. Thanks for the laugh!

    Like

  5. Morning Brenda and thank you SO for your comment…so glad it made you chuckle! Yes…always fascinating what you can see if you really look…I used to teach Secondary school Art and was always getting children to look at things in a fresh, different way…almost surreal! Garden pics to come soon and sadly, the copper tape did not work that great on the slugs…however a sliced carrot as decoy seems to be working a little. More on that soon…a day off and out with my husband today…much needed! Hope your day is cheery and sunny! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Wow your ability to draw inspiration from such everyday things and then turning into your beautiful words is amazing. I’m so impressed Krys. You are a wonderful writer πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Wow…I don’t know what to say…I feel very humbled and honoured that you have chosen to stop by my blog and leave me such wonderful comments. Thank you so much my friend…your comments give me hope and inspiration for my future blogging. Take good care πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

