Three score years.

  


 
 For three score years, or very nearly,

my body has orbited around the sun

glued firmly to this revolving evolving globe.

No nausea now and still firmly attached,

Fate has of late breathed gently upon me.

Half a Century was a rollercoaster of a ride!

One of extremes,

of swings and roundabouts,

of turbulence and snatched serenity,

of birthing and nurturing,

of complexity and perplexity,

and never once did the man in the moon

turn his comforting face away from me.

********************

And what now I ask myself,

not without a smidgen of apprehension?

With three score years, tears and travels,

where to now?

Aha!

Nowhere.

I know now why my heart desires to fly,

to break free and soar and 

ride the winds of change,

like eagles swirling nonchalantly heavenwards

as I stand precariously upon Life’s next knife-edge.

The very same proteins embedded within my tender heart 

and miraculously evolved in the blink of an eon 

causing it to hop and skip and jump,

Oh miracle of miracles…

the very same…

signal insect wings to relax and contract,

to fly and flit and hover so gracefully!

********************

I have my answer now,

so beautifully simple and simply beautiful.

Entanglements and ensnarements

are of this world,

of human making and manifesting,

blinding, binding entrapments.

Outwith and within, 

oh wisdom of the Ages and Sages,

You alone are my teachers now.

Now…

with a newly re-remembered lightness of heart,

eagerly and delightfully I await

Your next instructions…

********************

Photo courtesy of http://www.desktopwallpapers4.me

2 chemicals, actin and myosin, evolved long ago to allow the muscles in insect wings to contract and relax. So insects learnt to fly. Today, the same 2 proteins are responsible for the beating of the human heart, and when one is absent, the person’s heartbeat is inefficient and weak, ultimately leading to heart failure. When one of these is absent in an insect, wings will grow but cannot flap, and are therefore useless. 

This priceless information gleaned from Deepak Chopra:  The Book of Secrets, with thanks.

Eureka: all living things are intimately connected and co-dependent.

As my 60th Birthday looms and many moons have passed, my 6 children and partners, together with friends are planning a large family-fest at The Inn on the Loch on January 15th. Do I sense a stirring of impending shyness of such a spotlight, within myself? Ah I am touched and humbled by the love shown by them all and my dear husband, John, who tolerates my quirkiness of spirit! My deepest love to you all…

…and to my dear friends on WordPress for your patience and understanding.

14 thoughts on “Three score years.

    1. Thanking you so for your good wishes and blessings ahead of Friday, I am both touched and humbled by your thoughtfulness. To gather family together and reconnect is the best gift I could possibly have…😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much my friend for your kind wishes. I have been busy preparing for an influx of visitors, cleaning cooking baking etc and some arrive tomorrow with John’s sister staying till Monday. Phew! It’s been a busy time but I am deeply touched by everyone’s thoughtfulness. Thank you! I certainly intend to enjoy myself… Not everyday that you turn 60! It’s a bit daunting and quite a big number. How on earth did that one creep up on me ha ha? I will probably be offline now until after the weekend when I will pick up my WordPress threads again. I am really enjoying being back on here again and the interaction that takes place after having had 4-5 months away. Feels a bit more balanced this time… So I will wish you all the best for now, take care, and my good wishes.⭐️❄️🌜 x

      Like

  1. I just dropped by to read your posts, for I haven’t in a while. I must admit that I absolutely loved reading this poem as it brought a smile to my face. Your linguistic skills are commendable and I hope that one day I’ll be able to write like this. Cheers! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much my friend…I am thrilled to have made a connection and your words are just too kind. After celebrations and festivities I am getting ready to re emerge back onto WordPress and it is comments like yours that keep me going and give me inspiration…I am deeply humbled, thank you my friend… I have lots to catch up with…posts etc… 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

