if only…

20160225_113428010_iOS

if only I knew then what I know now

how could I let my heart rule my head?

if I had listened to my inner Dao

all life’s choices emotionally led

*****************************

if I could rewind the passing of Time

gone down avenues wiser and brighter

would the path have been an easier climb

would my heavy load been any lighter?

***************************

if there had been no wild expectations

or a need “to be seen to be doing”

would there have been less confrontations

with eyes correctly tuned to the viewing?

*****************************

if in this world I had not sought pleasure

but instead looked deep in to my soul

I would have found there infinite treasure

and realized there was never a goal

******************************

“To thine own self be true,” Polonius’s words

of enlightenment insight and truth

sung sweetly each daybreak from beaks of birds

had I of this been aware in my youth

**********************************

would I have fallen down the same pot-holes

and blamed all around for such a fate

trying to juggle just too many roles

so my own destiny thus to create

***********************************

if I had but seen the symbols and signs

my fellow companions along the way

I would not have stepped on so many mines

and not be the person I am today

************************************

to this day words of Delphi still echo

“know thyself” from Gaia’s navel springs forth

as subtle scents of flowers in meadow

magical perfume envelopes the earth

**************************************

and what has been is and still will be

is all just as it is destined to be

for the things I draw to me in this life

are my teachers that I might break free

******************************************

20160225_113604537_iOS

Photos : Pebbles that “speak” to me picked up on a walk to St. Ninian’s Cave, near Whithorn, Galloway,  southern  Scotland.  It is a place of Pilgrimage and one of those “thin” places where heaven and earth touch.

“This above all: to thine own self be true, And it must follow, as the night the day, Thou canst not then be false to any man,” words spoken by Polonius, a character in Shakespeare’s Hamlet.

The Ancient Greek aphorism, “Know Thyself,” was inscribed in the forecourt of the Temple of Apollo at Delphi, according to the Greek writer, Pausanias.

Gaia’s navel : The site of Delphi was believed to have been determined by Zeus when he sought to find the centre of his “Grandmother Earth” or Gaea/ Gaia. He sent two eagles flying, one from the east and one from the west and the path of the birds crossed over Delphi where the 0mphalos, or navel of Gaia was found.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “if only…

    1. Correct my friend and my son is studying Hamlet as part of his advanced English Higher exam at school, so it is very much fresh in my mind right now. I also went to see a production of Hamlet recently starring Benedict Cumberbatch hence the quote…grateful thanks for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you like this, thank you so, it means a lot to me. I fell in love with the pebbles too. The one with the circle and line is really huge and I had to carry it back to the car quite a long way. I felt like I had been on a pilgrimage and done penance… !!! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Krysia, this one’s got to resonate with all of us on WP. We’ve all gone down a rocky road and tried to backtrack, but that, in hindsight, has made us what we are, isn’t it? Aah, life and its experiences! So good to see you back to your regualr posting self! Cheers!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I like the way you intertwine your poetry with historical and cultural facts (not trivia). I usually read a poem twice, sometimes even thrice, to let its meaning sink into my heart, Only then do I let the intellect digest its content and after analysis have its true meaning sent back to the heart. Thank for such a fine piece of literary art and the facts on Delphi, Krysya!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are most welcome my friend and so glad you enjoyed it! I find researching around a poem absolutely fascinating…you never know what you might unearth… ! Hope this finds you all well and the scent of Spring is in the air… not long now. The bulbs are already through. Very busy with organ playing at the moment, lots of extra services to practice for so not so much time for going on here just now, but I will try and keep the impetus rolling. Thank you once again for the most encouraging comment Peter…take care. 🌅

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

