Lovehearts

lovehearts-600x400

You brought your bonsai and bass guitar

I brought my paintings and piano

we each came with half a heart broken

cleverly disguised in love’s potion.

**********

Souls fusing before eyes’ first meeting

our language silence, no need for talking

within your eyes myself reflecting

dreams and aspirations connecting.

**********

Sharp serrated edges meet perfectly

deep scar tissue has faded with time

two half-hearts melded together

through life’s days of storm and fair weather.

**********

No one said it would be that easy

once euphoria of new love has been and gone

lessons in give and take and flexibility

as I came with a ready-made family!

**********

To walk the middle road is never easy

tackling new issues whilst healing the old

“Never take on more than you can handle”

as from the past we ourselves disentangle.

**********

What of the welfare of those heart fragments now?

the answer is simple and straightforward…

just as a gardener must water and feed

love and affection is the heart’s constant need.

**********

Ying and yang, our characters so different

many years you lived alone, I hardly ever

yet destiny conspired that we should meet

that memory still lingers, tender and sweet.

**********

May our love embrace our eccentricities

each new day a refreshing unknowing

may our common ground draw us ever closer

as an orchestra to the music of a composer.

**********

Like balls of mercury I shatter and roll

whilst you gather me up and remake me whole

like a convoluted river I meander

once in your safe harbour, I need no more wander.

**********

Photo courtesy of Google Images.

Lovehearts : I used to buy these sweets as a child and it amazes me that you can still buy them today.  They have obviously never gone out of fashion and remain a firm favourite.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Lovehearts

  1. Oh my, Krys. This is so my kinda poem. You are just getting better and better. I love this. Such a lovely poem, about parting and then reuniting. It was full of wonderful little gems.

    “we each came with half a heart broken
    cleverly disguised in love’s potion”
    – Oh Krys, don’t know how to put it. Would saying, I adore this suffice?

    “Souls fusing before eyes’ first meeting
    our language silence, no need for talking”…. truly, the soul needs no talking. It can see, feel, inderdtand what the mind cannot and heart falter

    “No one said it would be that easy
    once euphoria of new love has been and gone
    lessons in give and take and flexibility
    as I came with a ready-made family!”….

    “Just as a gardener must water and feed
    love and affection is the heart’s constant need”- this is so true. In fact it’s the greatest truth for me.

    “May our love embrace our eccentricities
    each new day a refreshing unknowing” – Yes, Krys may we all be blessed by such love that embraces us with all our facets and that monotony has little chance.

    “Like a convoluted river I meander
    once in your safe harbour, I need no more wander” – the closing lines just wowed me. Stupefied me. It’s so me…

    Krys , take three bows please. This was a maginificent piece, beautifully engaging and I’m feeling a sense of calm come over me. You just enthralled me, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Words fail me my friend…all I can utter is a feeble “Thank You”…I have had this one half written for a long time and something must have clicked for me to complete it. Indeed, it comes straight from my heart just how it was and is… I am SO thrilled that you like it so as your Love poetry is always so heart renderingly beautiful. I am both honoured and humbled all at once my dear… Thank you for quoting too…I am doubly honoured! Although it is not so obvious to me I must be making progress and growing in confidence… Once again I thank you for such overwhelming praise…he he… Still picking myself up off the floor. Beautiful day here cold and sunny… Time to get up and get ready to play the organ! Have a day filled with joy in your heart Nandita. πŸ’ŸπŸŒž

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Stop thanking me so much Krys. Thank yourself for the beauty you carry in your heart and for being to radiate it so well. And i hope by now you are up from the floor ; and spreading the joy already. You see, my dear, i gave you ample time. Hahaha. Waiting to read/marvel at.. your poem/painting soon. Maybe upload an audio clip of your organ playing, why deprive us of that? πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. …Good day to you my dear and I have noted organ recital request and will ask my son Ruairi to help with the uploading of perhaps a piano piece by my favourite modern composer, played on my piano at home…I am first and foremost a pianist, been playing since the age of 7, and then I adapted to play the church organ at the age of 39! Will keep you in suspense as to his name…and also would quite like to write some words to go with it! Ooooh lots to create here and lots of catching up to do after lots of playing… Have a lovely Tuesday! πŸ™‚ 🌈

        Liked by 1 person

  2. In the German language poetry is ‘Dichtung’, which means compression. It seems to me that your entire life has been compressed into these wonderful verses. Indeed, they lend meaning to a life and its often puzzling stages, broken pieces that come together in the end. Such is also my experience. Well done, Krysia!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. …yes, indeed, Life often feels like so many jig-saw pieces that at the time do not fit BUT when you then look back on the years you realise that it happened just as it was meant to to enable you to awaken just a little bit more…Glad you made the connection my friend and thank you once again for your generous comments! πŸ™‚ Love and Blessings to you all in Canada…πŸŒ„

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

