Pentametric Poem

My long lost friends have found me once again,

from distant days of paper, ink and pen.

Of wooden desks disfigured and abused,

of English teachers, quirky and bemused.

***************************************

Of Shakespeare, Chaucer and pentameter,

iambic flow, idyllic childhood days.

Close friendships forged, rekindled love affair

with enjambment and Summer’s carefree rays.

******************************************

In poetry caesura plays it’s part,

like bosom-friends no longer in my heart.

Life’s challenges have pierced me with their dart,

Yet Art and Music, Words, a salve implant.

********************************************

The chiming convent bell, a memory

of morning prayers, spirituality.

Shared, embraced, in warm camaraderie,

as boarders share a false security.

**********************************************

Fear not, my friends, for all is not yet lost,

full circle I have run and now I fly.

These treasures past, re-kindled not yet tossed

aside to die, but resurrected high.

************************************************

As Winter’s cold lethargic fingers fall

and frogs with croak return to pond to mate,

Depression’s veil dissolves to Springtime’s call,

As spark ignites my soul to germinate.

**************************************************

Apologies for the “Rogue” line not true to the iambic penametric form : “shared , embraced, in warm camaraderie”… !

1967-1972 : I was a Boarder at the Holy Family of Nazareth Convent School, Pitsford, Northampton.

Pentameter : from the Greek and is a poetic meter. A poem is written in a particular pentameter when the lines of the poem have the length of 5 feet…where”foot” is a combination of a particular number ( 1 or 2 ) of weak syllables and a strong syllable.

Iambic pentameter : is a commonly used type of metrical line in traditional English poetry and verse drama. “Iambic” refers to the type of foot that is used, known as the iamb, which in English is a weak syllable followed by a strong syllable. Iambic rhythms come fairly naturally in English and iambic pentameter is the most common meter in English poetry. Shakespeare used iambic pentameter in his plays and sonnets.

Enjambment : In poetry the continuation of a sentence without a pause beyond the end of a line, couplet, or stanza.

Caesura : A pause in a line of poetry that is formed by the rhythms of natural speech rather than by metrics. It usually occurs near the middle of a poetic line but can also occur at the beginning or the end of a line.

 

27 thoughts on “Pentametric Poem

  1. I marvel at your skill of putting your childhood memories in iambic pentameter. It felt good to discover the ease, with which the words flow. Thank you for being so thorough with your glossary at the end of your post! A very fine lesson of rhythm in English poetry, Krysia!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. It was also an exercise for myself as I am reading about poetry writing style and set myself the task of writing in iambic pentameter. The result is what appeared! Glad it had a positive effect. I too enjoy the free flow within the constraints of a framework…so very very different from what they call Free-style poetry. Interesting! Your positive feedback always gives me great encouragement to continue down this path. Thank you Peter. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Krysia, my dear friend if you call me QLLP i must start calling you EPPM (Empress of Philosophical Poetry and Musings). This is as good as it gets. My favourite stanzas:

    “Fear not, my friends, for all is not yet lost,
    full circle I have run and now I fly.
    These treasures past, re-kindled not yet tossed
    aside to die, but resurrected high”.
    I love how you bring the reader to imagine the deep lament in your voice about having had to ignore what was precious to you but the conviction is stronger than ever that you’d get back to them without much ado.

    And the hope abounds when you say:
    “As Winter’s cold lethargic fingers fall
    and frogs with croak return to pond to mate,
    Depression’s veil dissolves to Springtime’s call,
    As spark ignites my soul to germinate.”
    Brilliant use of metaphors, both in the winter’s fingers and the germination of the soul.
    Magnificent!! Stunning! You are my EPPM πŸ™‚
    And then

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My oh my, my friend…you are just too, too kind and I am humbled by your generous praise. Such praise from QLLP…Thank you! ….Smiling…you brought a very big smile to my face! I have been reading about poetry styles and set myself the exercise of writing in iambic pentameter…the result is what appeared! I did not expect it to be so well received! Ha ha! The world is FULL of wonderful surprises and your continued support and encouragement is a blessing and a great JOY to me. Thank you so my dear. I hope you are having a good weekend. Palm Sunday here today in the Christian Churches so I am off to play 2 services this morning. Will catch up a wee bit later. Take good care Nandita. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are most welcome, my dear sweet Krys. Your talent is staggering, really! πŸ™‚ I’m only showing what you have. And doing so gleefully

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh sweetness personified! And with the JOY you have placed in my heart I will get washed and dressed to shortly jump onto 2 organ stools in 2 different churches! Have a lovely day. No time this morning to catch up with new poems….later, later! Take care, dear! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ok Krys, but just quickly read my response to your recent comment. I’ll delete it then.

        Like

  3. The chiming convent bell, a memory

    of morning prayers, spirituality.

    Shared, embraced, in warm camaraderie,

    as boarders share a false security.

    I can fully relate to this poem.

    Spirituality soothes us as we pray to earth and the beautiful things life has given us.
    We humans embrace and must cherish life itself and those we love around us.

    You my friend speak wisdom…I love this poem. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. …I have waited for your poetry works to appear on my Reader but they do not seem to be appearing automatically!!! 😦 I will check out your original site my friend very soon. Just that Easter has been such an incredibly busy time with family and soon I will be sharing my time with the garden… I will see what I can do!!! πŸ™‚ What have I been missing…..???/

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely work and very moving and meaningful poem…. I don’t have your education or know all the rules of poetry but I have the need, and it is a need, to write all the time and most probably never follow any of the “rules” but I do enjoy leaning about my craft and thank you for the poetry lesson!! Most interesting, if not just a little confusing πŸ™‚ Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. …oops, I did not mean to be confusing and sorry if I was. The most important thing is to write from the heart and to ENJOY what you are doing and to be true to yourself when you are writing…and this I feel most strongly when I read your poems my friend. I am so enjoying reading your work even though I am unable to be on here all of the time… 😦 πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  5. only confusing to me because I am not familiar with all the “poetic” terms πŸ™‚ I have a dear older friend who is a poet and very educated woman and she told me once that she knows I don’t like to follow rules, even the ones I am aware of but she said “when you write a poem and it really works and flows just right, if you analyze it, you will most often find that you followed the rules even though you didn’t know what they were!” very wise words and some times true but I do agree with you as well that the most important piece of the writing is the authentic voice and the heart felt words, not the rhyming scheme. πŸ™‚ Poetry is the language of emotion, what would the world do without it? ! πŸ™‚

    love and peace to you πŸ™‚

    Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your older friend is wise and so so right Michelle… You know by gut feeling and how it feels and sounds that it works…true, so true…poetry is indeed a personal expression of deep innermost feelings… Or it can be light hearted and fun! So so varied…so individual. Here’s to your creativity my friend and many many hours of pleasure! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

