Silkie Style

Just a few words to explain how this poem came about…Last month I attended a local monthly Poetry writing group and was given some homework : to write a poem of about 12 lines or so, rhyming or non-rhyming using the following random words :

New, Hens, Building and Girl.

The following is my “take” on fitting these words into a poem. Β It was challenging to say the least and it is dedicated to my REAL friend Rhona, for whom it is written.

*****************************************************************

silkie-chickens--30013 (1)

My dear friend Rhona has a new passion,

Haute couture of poultry, feathered fashion.

Genetic design with wings and feathers,

she cleans and feeds her hens in all weathers.

Her stylish Silkies a sight to behold :

bearded or non-bearded, lavender, gold.

Lovingly building fine pens for her brood,

her expertise vast, her judgement so shrewd.

This girl really knows her Art inside out,

she’ll hatch her illusive chick I’ve no doubt…

Incubating eggs all over the place,

choir of “cheeps,” she’s running out of space!

‘Tis sad there’s no cockerel at home to see,

too many neighbours, no crowing at three.

Chicken runs, coops, up-country extending,

her local friends their gardens are lending

as Rhona’s empire continues to grow

I ask, “Where will it end?”…That I don’t know.

But one thing I say and that without doubt,

Rhona’s new pedigree…will come about!

******************************************

Silkie Picture courtesy of Google Images.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Silkie Style

    1. …glad you liked this. It was a bit different. Rhona is quite a lady and TOTALLY passionate about her hens. Some have Poetry and some have chickens! We all need a Passion or 2 or 3 or 4…..!!! πŸ’š

      Like

  1. It is amazing what you accomplished with the plain, simple words like New, Hens, Building and Girl. A great poem placed under a most unusual photo! The only thing that bothered me a little was that you went way over the 12 line limit as directed in the assignment. There you have it, the retired teacher is making a comment, and I hope will understand it as constructive criticism.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. …ha ha ha Peter! Thank you so for these comments…I know, I know, I know…I went over the 12 lines and I got carried away, I was SO enjoying the write! Having been a teacher in the past and having had to abide by many rules and systems, perhaps now that I myself am semi-retired I am enjoying pushing the boundaries a little and thinking out of the box! Either way, I think the ladies in the group enjoyed the poem. It was interesting to see all the different “takes” on those 4 words. SO so individual. Thanks for stopping by to comment…Spring continues to spring here as we have had some gloriously hot, sunny days. Hope it’s the same for you too! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for the understanding comment from a retired teacher to a semiretired teacher! We had sunny, hot weather here too. We even broke a 1912 record by reaching 29 degrees C. Now it has cooled off aa little making garden and yard work more pleasant to work in. Have a wonderful weekend , Krysia!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Glad temperatures have cooled a little for you making gardening pleasanter. Hope it stays that way! A good week end to you Both, too! Thank you Peter. πŸŒ±πŸŒΏβ˜˜πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

