No more lunch money…

Today and for the very last time forever,

Ruairi had his final lunch money ever.

For twenty two years I’ve been handing out cash,

a blink of an eyelash, years gone in a flash!

I sit and I ponder from baby to man,

life spread out before him, adventures to plan.

Young eyes observing exciting potentials

as he tries to collect the best of credentials

to carry him through on this next stage unknown,

I sit and I marvel how fine he has grown.

The youngest of six, school days almost over,

there’ll be trials to face, it won’t all be clover.

He is clever and smart, his few years disguise

a maturity wise!  He’ll reach for the skies

as he weighs up his choices and he faces

a lifetime of seeing people and places.

I silently sit, observing and watching,

knowing that my worries will not be going

anywhere soon…

THEY’LL BE THERE TILL THE END!

And as these thoughts draw on to their closure,

I wish him a joyful, happy exposure

to a life of fulfillment, freedom and peace.

The ties to my apron strings must finally cease!

*****************************************************

My 18 year old son has only another week of school to go before he sits his final school exams.  For me this is yet another milestone, having sent 6 out to school and having watched them all go through the “System.”  Nail-biting time ahead, awaiting results and hopefully going on to Uni.. On Monday 18th April I handed him a £20 note to cover 2 weeks worth of lunches.  For me it was a profound moment…!!!  Phew, these milestones are coming fast and furious my friends!

 

10 thoughts on “No more lunch money…

    1. Thank you Peter, glad you liked it! I was pleased with the flow, rhythm and rhyme too. I am more aware of the importance now of how the poem sounds when read aloud. I now belong to 2 local Poetry writing groups and poems are always read aloud! So different to reading in your head. Yes never ever stop being a mum… Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Gosh Krys! This made me misty-eyed. This a truly a mother’s poem, replete with love, caring, wistful reminiscence and staunch hope for the future. I truly wish you well in your vigil during his examinations and send my blessings to both mother and son in this moment of imminent change. Bless you both! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

