One day…

We live our lives, a necklace of magical days,

as seamlessly one day threads on from another.

From dawn to dusk a cosmic abacus ablaze,

beads of love and hate, colliding with each other,

as our earth, sublime blue-green shimmering opal,

orbits the sun, whilst we each enact the drama

we are destined to perform, silent or vocal,

with dove or arrow, in the shadow of Rama.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

One day can gift heights so golden with giddiness

as we hear the celestial clarion call,

or sink us to our knees fainting with dizziness,

empty and numb as into an abyss we fall.

From sunrise to sunset, one day is the measure

for choices to be made, be they pleasure or pain.

If we waken we know we have one day to treasure,

cast aside judgement and let peace prevail again.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

We have one day. We have the cyclical seasons,

of those there is absolutely not any doubt

and when man analyses, thinks and he reasons,

the capture of Time he can never bring about.

For Time is her own mistress, she pulls her own strings,

not by Julian or Gregorian to live,

but with her own agenda a freedom she brings,

whilst man every four years an extra day must give.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

And before you leap to a fitting conclusion,

One day is all we have, the rest…is illusion!

 

 

********************************************

Just to put you all in the picture again, this was another challenge set by the Lanark Writers’ Group, last week…they give weekly assignments/ challenges for you to take away and work on and then bring back the following week.  Gulp!  They also give you little challenges on the spot… i. e. write something on a set title or a set style of poem, etc., within the next 10 minutes or so…Gulp!  This will certainly stir up all those hibernating grey cells…methinks a bit of an electric shock!!!!  It will be interesting however to have the physical interaction when speaking/ reading poetry.  A whole new dimension…different.  Not better, not worse, just DIFFERENT and interesting, as happens when group dynamics come into play too.  

Julian and Gregorian refer to the Calendars of those names.  Today all countries which formerly used the Julian Calendar, now use the Gregorian.  There was a major discrepancy in the Julian calendar, hence the introduction of the Gregorian in 1582. But even the latter does not measure Time accurately and an extra day has to be added every leap year to keep the calendar year synchronized with the seasonal or astronomical year.

 

6 thoughts on “One day…

  1. My EPPM, every time you post, you prove it behind doubt that the tag I’ve given you is totally justified. I will give it a few more readings as it deserves before I give my detailed thoughts, as I would love to do. This is a quick note to tell you, that the Empress never fails to impress 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. …nor does the QLLP…you have left my heart thumping and my emotions all a-tingling…phew! Just read your Love making saga…wow! Off to Lanark Writer’s tonight, will read it out to them…it was our homework lol! See what they say, will be very very interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. From dawn to dusk a cosmic abacus ablaze,
    beads of love and hate, colliding with each other,

    “we are destined to perform, silent or vocal,
    with dove or arrow, in the shadow of Rama.”
    This left me breathless.. the spirituality here is just so beautifully woven, right from the necklace of magical days. In the shadow of Rama is just so bountiful of your deep devotion to the Creator.

    “From sunrise to sunset, one day is the measure
    for choices to be made, be they pleasure or pain.”
    Wiser words have not been written. It’s all about choices and then deciding to abide by the choices.

    “For Time is her own mistress, she pulls her own strings,
    not by Julian or Gregorian to live”
    How beautiful, Krys! Time is her own mistress, it has no master except for the higher power.

    “One day is all we have, the rest…is illusion!”
    Let’s make this one day, a necklace of magical days. For what we give us what we get. Love is love, everything is something else.
    I am so loving what the Lanark is doing to you.
    And I’m honoured and humbled that you, my EMPP would consider reading my poem to this wonderful group.

    Take three bows my lovely EMMP!  
    The Cosmos too must be smiling reading your homage. You have outdone yourself and I have the utmost respect for you. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my dear…I am so so glad you liked this one. It meant so much to me when I was writing it…and I am over the moon that you so connected with it! I am humbled by your generous praise my dear. I am so glad that you loved the imagery in this poem too…Apologies for having been absent for a few days…the “Terrasphere” has conspired to throw things in that needed to be sorted…so I had to put the Blogosphere on hold. I will try to catch up with recent posts etc etc. I have a funeral to play tomorrow and 3 services on Sunday! I will be all played out by the time Sunday comes but will do my best not to lose touch. I hope all is well with you my friend…take good care! ❤💐😊

      Like

  3. A superbly written poem with the focus on time,which we cannot capture, but must live one day at a time. I hear the verses as if spoken aloud within me. How much more beautiful will your poem sound when read out aloud in your poetry group! Congratulations, Krysia!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Peter! As always, your encouragement means so much. Yes, I feel it went down well and was positively received. I feel I have set a precedent now and have a standard to live up to…! 😊 Thank you once again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

