Oh what embarrassment…

Notes came home fast and furious

that first term.  I was curious

what news this latest one contained?

This time I couldn’t stay restrained.

I never expected this one

and, “Who said Parenting was fun?”

*******************************************

This note was new territory

and in retelling this story

I marvel my marbles I’ve kept!

Having not slept, the tears I wept

for years, relentlessly working,

this commitment not for shirking,

I’d do it all gladly again.

Welcome the mundane with the pain.

*******************************************

The note spoke of Pediculosis.

Without fail, a home diagnosis

was needed to ascertain the facts.

I set about looking for egg sacks.

Having traced the adults, made contact,

waged war, those vampires to extract.

Oh bring back our friend “Nitty Nora,”

this time around I’d not ignore her.

****************************************

Oh what embarrassment that one note brought!

Fraught and distraught as some solace I sought,

priding myself on clean kids and clean house,

not dirty enough to rear a head-louse.

Six children later and yes, much wiser,

‘tween rich and poor, a great equalizer!

*********************************************

At Lanark Writers’ group last week we were set the homework to write a piece of writing on the topic “Embarrassment.” This is my offering for tonight!

 

NOTE:

Pediculosis : Infestation of lice on the human body.

“Nitty Nora  the flea explorer,” was a song we used to chant when queuing up to have our hair checked for head lice by the school nurse in Primary school!

 

9 thoughts on “Oh what embarrassment…

  1. Do I sense nostalgia on getting what you once gave? Teachers’ notes to parents…what bittersweet fun when you relive those tales! The years gone by, raising children of your own, and yet you would do it all over again..the mundane of the pain with so much verve it makes me sigh at your indomitable spirit.
    And i love the Nitty Nora the flea explorer, twice removed cousin of Dora the Explorer. Lol. This was really sweet, Krys with all the correct ingredients of fun, nostalgia, happy tears, the lost years, blessings, stress, pressure, anxiety, laughter, and essentially all the things that make up life as we know it.
    Great job, my dearest friend! :)May you continue to find joy in the little things of life. And me too. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. …yes indeed a touch of nostalgia here! Glad you enjoyed this humorous little poem and I hope YOU find much joy and pleasure in the little things that cross YOUR path. You deserve it my dear! ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh yeah, teacher’s notes, the dread of parents and children! you described your embarrassment very well. I can see how the poetry group has become an inspiration to you. It also gives you time to relax from your daily chores, gives you an audience for your poetry and most importantly provides valuable feedback and constructive criticism. I am looking forward to your next poem, Krysia!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much once again for your positive feed-back, Peter. You are correct about the constructive criticism. It is so much needed, how can you ever improve otherwise? Also, the writing of Poetry or any prose for that matter, is instant…you don’t need many tools, just pen and paper or laptop or even mobile phone! Less effort than setting up your paints……. 😦 My poor paints are feeling neglected just now as I have been doing a lot of organ playing again…4 services in 3 days, Phew! I hope the next poetic installment won’t be too far away my friend! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh, I remember it well and still go on the occasional nit prowl of my youngest. Horrible business to contend with but, when it happened the first time to my son, I became ruthless and unafraid. How very dare they!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

